## **Council** (Annual Meeting) 25 May 2011



#### 17 May 2011

Members of the public are welcome to attend the Annual Meeting of the Council.



The Council meets in the Court Room of the Town Hall which is located on the ground floor. Entrance is via the main door or access ramp at the front of the Town Hall. Parking bays for blue badge holders are available in front of the Town Hall and in the car park at the rear of the Town Hall.



An induction loop operates to enhance sound for deaf people who use a hearing aid or loop listener.

If you require further information or assistance please contact the Local Democracy team – contact details given below.

This agenda and accompanying reports are published on the Council's website in PDF format which means you can use the "read out loud" facility of Adobe Acrobat Reader.

Please ask if you would like this agenda and/or any of the reports in an alternative format.

### To the Members of the Borough Council

You are summoned to attend the Annual Meeting of the Eastbourne Borough Council to be held at the Town Hall, Grove Road, Eastbourne, on Wednesday 25 May 2011 at 6.00pm to transact the following business:

# Agenda

- **1.** Election of Mayor.
- 2. Minutes of the meeting held on 20 April 2011 (pages 353 to 358) (previously circulated).
- 3. Notification of apologies for absence.

#### 4. Appointment of Deputy Mayor.

#### 5. Investiture of Mayoress/Mayor's Consort.

**6. Mayor's Chaplain** – Notification of appointment.

#### 7. Borough Council Elections held on 5 May 2011.

- (a) To receive the report of the Returning Officer Report 7(a).
- (b) Welcome to newly elected Councillors:

Hampden Park Ward: Councillors Pat Hearn and Jim Murray

Langney Ward: Councillor Alan Shuttleworth

Old Town Ward: Councillors Janet Coles and John Ungar

Ratton Ward: Councillor Colin Murdoch

- Sovereign Ward: Councillors Philip Ede, Gordon Jenkins and Patrick Warner
- **Upperton Ward:** Councillors Alun Cooke, Tom Liddiard and Annabelle West
- (c) Return of re-elected Councillors:
  - **Devonshire Ward:** Councillors Margaret Bannister, Neil Stanley and Steve Wallis
  - Hampden Park Ward: Councillor Mike Thompson
  - Langney Ward: Councillors Harun Miah and Troy Tester
  - Meads Ward: Councillors David Elkin, Nigel Goodyear and Barry Taylor
  - **Old Town Ward:** Councillor Carolyn Heaps
  - Ratton Ward: Councillors Colin Belsey and Sandie Howlett
  - **St Anthony's Ward:** Councillors Jon Harris, Gill Mattock and David Tutt

(d) Vote of thanks to outgoing Councillors. The following Councillors were unsuccessful at the elections:-

Councillor:	Service:

Alex HoughElected on 7 May 2007 for Upperton ward.MargaretElected on 7 May 2007 for Sovereign ward.Salsbury

Please note that a vote of thanks was given at the previous meeting of the Council, together with a record of their service, in respect of those councillors who retired and did not seek re-election.

8. Election of Leader of the Council (and Chairman of the Cabinet). To receive nominations and vote thereon.

(Note: The Leader is to be appointed to a 4-year term of office in accordance with the provisions of the Local Government and Public Involvement in Health Act 2007)

**9. Executive arrangements.** Leader of the Council to report:

(a) The names of those Councillors to serve on the Cabinet and the Councillor appointed as Deputy Leader of the Council (and Deputy Chairman of the Cabinet) and to note the respective areas of responsibility for each member of the Cabinet.

(b) That the terms of reference and constitution of the Cabinet be as set out in the Council's Constitution.

(c) That delegations to individual Cabinet members in respect of executive functions have not been made at this time.

#### 10. Establishment of Council committees, appointment of chairmen, deputy chairmen and members to serve on Council committees, appointment of chairman and non-executive directors on boards and other appointments.

(1) To agree the proposed number and allocation of seats, receive nominations and vote thereon. *Please see reports10a and 10b referred to below and the supplementary paper which it is expected to be circulated at the meeting. Where a nomination is shown as "to be advised", it is hoped these nominations will be available in time to be circulated in a supplementary paper to be put round the table at the meeting.* 

(2) To re-appoint the current independent members of the Standards Committee: Mr John Vesely (as Chairman), Mr Trevor Elliott and Mr Anthony Meier for the 2011/12 Council year.

(3) To confirm the continuation of the following bodies with terms of reference as set out in the Council's Constitution that have a fixed membership or to which members are appointed by the Chief Executive,

Deputy Chief Executive or relevant Head of Service as the need arises: Equality Steering Group Council Panels Recruitment Panels Task Groups Project Boards Independent Remuneration Panel

(a) Political balance and allocation of seats. Report of Local Democracy Manager - Attachment 10a.

#### (b) Nominations from Group Leaders - Attachment 10b.

**11. Programme of meetings for 2011/12** – **Attachment 11.** The calendar was last approved by Council on 17 November 2010. It is subject to the following changes:

#### **12.** Delegation of non-executive functions.

Council to approve the delegation of non-executive functions, including terms of reference, to Committees, Sub-Committees, other Council bodies as set out in the relevant sections of the Council's Constitution.

#### 13. Scheme of delegations to officers and proper officer list

Council to approve the scheme of delegations to officers and proper officer list as set out in the relevant sections of the Council's Constitution. (*Please note that an updated scheme and list will be presented to members for adoption early in the Council year*).

## **14.** Appointments to outside and other bodies. To receive nominations from Group Leaders and vote thereon - Attachment 14.

**Robert Cottrill** 

Chief Executive

(der\P:\council\11.05.25\agenda

Please note that at the conclusion of the Annual Meeting the Mayor and Members of the Council are asked to assemble on the Town Hall steps for their photograph to be taken. **Local Democracy** – Town Hall, Grove Road, Eastbourne, BN21 4UG Tel (01323) 415003/415021. Minicom (01323) 415111. Fax (01323) 410322. E Mail: localdemocracy@eastbourne.gov.uk

For general Council enquiries telephone (01323) 410000 E-mail enquiries@eastbourne.gov.uk Website at www.eastbourne.gov.uk